It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 14:10

Good Morning & "Hello" from Chester

Visit here first to sign the visitors book, say your first 'Hello', share something about yourself and have a read of the forum rules.

Good Morning & "Hello" from Chester

Postby JedMc571 » 17 Sep 2017, 08:34

Good morning!

Took my time actually registering on here, but it's the start of "nesting" season for me as the nights draw in, and outside work becomes limited, and the interior jobs appear as if I never noticed them :eusa-doh:

I've been a "practical" woodworker since about 12 years old, when I built my first dog kennel from an old back gate, cut in half with my Dads old handsaw that hung outside in the toilet......YES! a toilet outside.
I ended up working as a motor spares partsman for the Lookers group after school, but was more interested in the hands on stuff at college, than the drudgery of handing a Montego service kit to someone.
From there, I ended up at Maine Rd MCFC where I worked as a Maintenance assistant, primarily as a painter, but with instruction from an old Army engineer who could fix anything.
His stories led me to my next chapter, and without looking back, I left Moss Side in Manchester at 19 and did 15 years as a Weapons Engineer in the RAF until 2005 when I was medically discharged.
Currently working as a Maintenace Engineer in one of the worlds largest fully Automated Warehouses based on the outskirts of Chester

I'm 46 now, and still enjoy working with my hands, I consider myself more of a practical woodworker, than a furniture guy? I've built a few pieces, but I'm more about stuff round the house, built ins, doors flooring, stairs, basically the stuff I don't trust others to do, and it costs less!

I suffer from Post Traumatic Stress, and woodwork is a good way of de-stressing, particularly after a bout of 12 hour shifts.