It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 14:39

Foil Follies

This forum is for any general questions, queries or plain old chinwaggery on Woody stuff in general.

Foil Follies

Postby kirkpoore1 » 26 Dec 2015, 16:17

Annndd we're back. Thanks to whoever reset the site after yesterday's outage.

My next big project will involve lots of Gothic tracery, carving, and for the first time, gold leaf. At least, I'm gonna try gold leaf. I've never used it before, don't know how touchy it will be or how hard it will be to get good results, nor how durable it will be after use, nor how easy it will be to repair when scratched. So the only thing to do is to try it out.

I started by gluing some blocks out of scrap walnut, ash, and some unknown tropical hardwood (deck cutoff scraps). I turned several ornaments, finishing up by cutting some shallow grooves with a bowl gouge:

I got a gold leaf kit from a local craft store. Besides the leaf (composition, not real gold), it had little bottles labeled base coat, sealer, adhesive, and antique glaze. Unfortunately, somebody got the box off the table while I was at work and had fun with it:

No serious harm, but in the cleanup, I must have thrown the instructions out.

Anyway, I used some sanding sealer (not from the kit) to seal the areas I intended to gild, and then sanded them down with some 220 grit paper. I then started with the adhesive size, which I think is just dilute white glue. You're supposed to paint it on, wait for it to get tacky, and then lay on the gold leaf. I found that it took a while to get tacky, and then the window of tackiness was pretty short before it actually dried. Results were OK, but there is definitely a learning curve to this: