It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 06:14

Which Glue?

This forum is for any general questions, queries or plain old chinwaggery on Woody stuff in general.

Which Glue?

Postby Woodbloke » 11 Sep 2020, 08:05

Right chaps, some thoughts needed from the forum populace please. The current major project in the 'shop is a jewellery box in Indian Rosewood with a solid panel lid:

IMG_4902.jpg
(257.17 KiB)

IMG_4903.jpg
(235.31 KiB)

Now I've never used this stuff before and although it's a wonderful exotic, it's as hard as Hades and very, very brittle. It's also virtually impossible to plane, even with a very high effective pitch on my low angle plane(s) so it's a case of scraping and sanding.

As you can see, I'm halfway through the jointing and nowhere near the gluing stage yet, but thoughts about a suitable glue have been percolating through the grey matter over the last couple of days. I want to give myself as much time as possible during the 'glue up' phase so I've been considering some proper 'old skool' epoxy which goes off solid over a 24hr period. There's also Cascamite which has a long 'open time' but it sets glass hard so I'm not too sure about it....

Bear in mind also, that Rosewood is a bit 'oily' so the question remains; what to use to give me the longest time to glue up? I think I may have answered my own question, but I'd be interested to see what others would use in similar circumstances - Rob
I no longer work for Axminster Tools & Machinery.
Woodbloke
Sequoia

Name:

Re: Which Glue?

Postby Mike G » 11 Sep 2020, 08:47

Blimey, does it matter? :) I mean, that'll hang together forever without any glue at all! Personally, I'd probably use PU.
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Postby sunnybob » 11 Sep 2020, 08:57

I've made loads of boxes with rosewood and similar hardwoods.