It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 21:52

Ducting for dust extractors

Here's the place to talk about all your table saws, bandsaws, routers and dust extractors. In fact anything that makes noise and uses electrickery.

Ducting for dust extractors

Postby martc » 28 May 2015, 17:32

I just bought a dust extractor for my workshop but I have no knowledge of the best way to do the pipe work for my machines.
The extractor has two 100mm inlet pipes one has an end cap so I have attached my first bit of pipework to the other inlet, I am using 110mm sewage pipes for the main trunking running up to the roof and the full length of the workshop (about 7 meters in length).
My question to the experts is what is the best size pipe to run from the main trunk to my machines, I was thinking of reducing to 50mm waste pipes would this work or would it be better to run 110mm to each machine?
The extractor has a 250mm impeller moving 1490cfm
Thanks
martc
Seedling

Name: Martin

Re: Ducting for dust extractors

Postby 9fingers » 28 May 2015, 19:43

Always keep the diameter as great as possible for as far as possible. The friction in a pipe increases as the diameter drops so the air flow drops drastically.

If you glue a blast gate into the open end of 110mm pipe with a foaming glue (PU), it forms a convenient 110 to 100mm conversion, then use 100mm flexible pipe and then only if the machine has a smaller dust port, make an adaptor (from wood?) down to the final size.

HTH

Bob
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dBTVXx ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
9fingers
Petrified Pine

Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Postby chataigner » 28 May 2015, 21:09

9fingers wrote:Always keep the diameter as great as possible for as far as possible. The friction in a pipe increases as the diameter drops so the air flow drops drastically.