It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 16:57

Bandsaws

Here's the place to talk about all your table saws, bandsaws, routers and dust extractors. In fact anything that makes noise and uses electrickery.

Bandsaws

Postby Charlotte » 13 Jul 2015, 22:22

I am in the process of loving into a workshop...complete with bench....and lights....and 3 phase! I have access to an enormous panel saw that is frequently used for chopping fire wood (!) and a dewalt lunchbox thingy...I'm not sure whether it is a p/t or just a thicknesser.

I have been given a rather manky Black and Decker bandsaw. It is a 3 wheeler and needs a new blade and quite possibly given it's state, new everything else as well.

I have been offered another bandsaw, an Electra Bektum. It's nearly 6' on it's stand and despite an ali table, damned heavy. He wants £100 for it. Do I want it?!

I'm a little skint at the moment but could find the money...

I have never used one before and truth be told, I'm not that sure what they are for! I know I can cut tenon cheeks on them, like I can with a tenon saw. I know I can cut curves with them...like I can with a jigsaw...presumably I can resaw with it too to an extent...which I can't do with a handsaw....but how much I have no idea.
Charlotte
Seedling

Name:

Re: Bandsaws

Postby Rod » 13 Jul 2015, 23:18

Go for it and the EB much better than any B&D by a large margin.
They are so useful you'll wonder how you managed without one.
It makes all those uses you mentioned so much easier and accurate.
Properly set up it will cut straight as well.
See what Mr G has been doing with his!

Rod
Rod
Old Oak

Name:

Postby Mike G » 14 Jul 2015, 08:05

Rod is spot on. If you don't want it, for £100, I'll have it. That little B&D bandsaw you'll find to be worse than useless, but the big one, with new blades, is a wonderful tool. Once you have one you really will wonder how you ever managed without.

Oh, and jigsaws? Compared with a bandsaw it is as crude as a stone axe.
Mike G
Sequoia

Name: