It is currently 18 Dec 2017, 15:54

Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Here's the place to talk about all your table saws, bandsaws, routers and dust extractors. In fact anything that makes noise and uses electrickery.

Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 23 Sep 2017, 14:21

Hi

Does anyone know what I need to power one of these?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/FGJmBPOgl85nJPjT2

It doesn't look like a standard plug?
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Robert » 23 Sep 2017, 15:01

Can't be sure but it looks like a French power plug that would accept a lead with some kind of flying socket on the end..

Andy?
Robert
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:31
Location: Woodford Green
Name: Robert

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Andyp » 23 Sep 2017, 15:30

Yep. Looks like a standard French plug to me. Here is one on my garden shredder which is 15amp is yours marked at all Tom?
IMG_20170923_161756027.jpg
(298.54 KiB)


You should be able to get a socket in the UK

Edit:
Evidently they are known as Type E http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/mains-plu ... s/7001101/
cheers

Andy

if images are not visible on my posts it is because Photobucket withdrew their free hosting service. I will reload images to the most recent threads in due course. Please drop me a PM if you would like to see anything before then
User avatar
Andyp
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4404
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby the bear » 23 Sep 2017, 16:25

Sorry can't be of use with your question but what happened to your jet supersaw?
Mark
the bear
New Shoots
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:50
Location: Surrey
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 23 Sep 2017, 17:26

Thanks guys

I was offered a 'cheap' Scheppach TS4010 but the guy hadn't seen it running. He didn't have the adapter lead that went from that inlet. I went down there to take a look. Whilst there I took off the inlet and wired it directly to a 13a lead. The saw tried to start but then blew the plug fuse. I am assuming it needs a 16a supply? It was cheap enough that I took a punt and brought it home. It's an old saw with some bits missing, but I needed something right away and it looks like it'll be fine once cleaned up. A stop gap for a year or so.

This is what the power inlet looks like inside:

Image

Can I fit a standard blue 16a male socket on this and then run a 13a to 16a fly lead?
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 23 Sep 2017, 17:40

wizer wrote:Thanks guys

I was offered a 'cheap' Scheppach TS4010 but the guy hadn't seen it running. He didn't have the adapter lead that went from that inlet. I went down there to take a look. Whilst there I took off the inlet and wired it directly to a 13a lead. The saw tried to start but then blew the plug fuse. I am assuming it needs a 16a supply? It was cheap enough that I took a punt and brought it home. It's an old saw with some bits missing, but I needed something right away and it looks like it'll be fine once cleaned up. A stop gap for a year or so.

This is what the power inlet looks like inside:

Image

Can I fit a standard blue 16a male socket on this and then run a 13a to 16a fly lead?


My TS and BS would blow the plug fuse, so I put a trailing 16A socket from the breaker box, and the 16A plugs on the machines. Not tripped the breaker since.

Not sure what that elec trickery is in the pic though. I'd check 1st. ... Bob might know
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 23 Sep 2017, 17:50

the bear wrote:Sorry can't be of use with your question but what happened to your jet supersaw?
Mark


Hi Mark

That saw got sold 7 or 8yrs ago (iirc). :eusa-think: :D
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 24 Sep 2017, 13:51

Tom,

We can't see your photo to be able to offer suggestions. I've looked at your link and it seems incredibly long, much longer than other google pics that you have posted in your workshop thread for instance.

eg

"https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/yPlQLiuMIc153jvH0ej6_NnhZiFb3BIkqlZy6m9U-kXbhD5VcNc7u8GDlmzs432GWr3cRu6rbeDqL08DVw_eiYxEWzQ_BzVqHh_tRuGCEmXAIgNYkB8D990NSFBsqDzCqK49YCglre8ipZpcyAd32QPQ-xs9idHvIpR1M0PYr34HxDsdcw5bFGLt_6_-OThaLqC9lyZpCfWCopjLuf5WYOwSLwwaM9IXOb-9j1WX8iT2KB0c8_N78yA8V58VOSszo33uX0lg5_eaNnEINWg2pLSTZhShlU1munoL6_JzQtNTmdFmiAjNRszx72ccsaPm4Slo2uGFbu9l4LkfrSbBJ4Tzi9luyOBtXE-qhV-ug910C8edkbepqiV8FyROd3P-nfKZ0nfqTG5z5kYMgk3x-FnsCn5UL5EaYwRcjazkw4-m4E0_zK4rgD31JXWcvdArboo6I-iKXRNNvsRnVq52_5F9Td8z1pLSk0u6afvCIhPV6E6IkZDy2w8ILORzwEMO0Ou_UjJVCAXnOJWcggpevLof5Gh02MibyS4-giz2ZtoRo3yy8h1CIIMcIaPxukD-4VNj-UaGTCoss_cSNO-FBg-wA5ii7BCwvmjgpwTzWEQ=w713-h950-no"

compared with

"https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/SNqczBgTfP_3rBoJP9eHqMU35SG7vSjuT0hD_r4P7sd1xPrOv_FW6byZQVbktuYWFpwA2GpSUY6qq1xu80eENDcnGIqyTPTM876UkjU5G4roeFwr1s4ia7gvZkKuypLm0fOV392TE5g"

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 24 Sep 2017, 14:54

I can see them Bob ?

Image
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 24 Sep 2017, 15:08

I can see the one Rich has posted but his link is different to the one Tom posted.

I can't see Tom pics on either PC or fruit phone.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 24 Sep 2017, 15:14

1st post was a link to google photos

this is the other pic from there
Image

then this is the lid off pic
Image
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 24 Sep 2017, 15:16

Anyway, to answer Tom's question.

Yes you should be able to fit a chassis mounting commando plug. These usually have a square flange with a hole at each corner. If there is meat in the housing to take screws then either self tapper or drill and thread the holes m5 or similar.
If there is not enough, fit a block of plywood, where you can on the casing and then screw the commando plug to that.
I have an item of garden machinery from Sheppach with one of those Schuko connectors and it is a PITA as it works loose with the vibration of the machine. Conversion to a commando socket is on my round-2-it list.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 24 Sep 2017, 15:19

Your second pic is not visible to me Rich.
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 24 Sep 2017, 15:25

2ndpic.jpg
(103.63 KiB)
2nd pic
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 24 Sep 2017, 15:40

Yes the gubbins in the box will have to stay. It's either soft start or braking or both.
Making a new lid to the box and fixing on a commando socket seems the way to go to me.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 24 Sep 2017, 16:36

Thanks Bob. As I expected. I'll pickup a 16a commando from work tomorrow.

We vaccuumed and blasted a full bin bag of saw dust out of it this afternoon :shock: But it looks like everything is ok. Shame it's missing the sliding table rails tho :(
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby justaskin » 24 Sep 2017, 17:38

Hi I had a 4010 saw bench with the same mains attachment before downsizing. If you need a lead longer than a couple of meters you definitely require 16amp cable and a dedicated single supply to your consumer unit and circuit breaker using a blue socket and plug similar to what caravan and motorhome use. A 13amp socket and plug invariably blows the fuses due to the startup loads.

It is a fine machine but not made to be portable for the small workshop.
Richard
You think its difficult try herding cats
User avatar
justaskin
New Shoots
 
Posts: 155
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 07:08
Location: Shenley Church End MK(the legion of the lost)
Name: Richard

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 24 Sep 2017, 18:20

Thanks Richard. I fear I might run into trouble with our electrics. We recently upgraded the consumer units, but the house is in dire need of a re-wire :?
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 14 Oct 2017, 15:54

Just had a chance to play with this again. I didn't get far.

I have wired in a 16a commando socket and plug

Image

This failed miserably. It tripped the 13a fuse in the plug, as before. I think I've mis-understood what I need to do. Is the only way to get around the 13a fuse from blowing, to bypass it completely and put a 16a outlet on the wall? i.e one of these:

Image

Then go 16a male plug/cable/16a female plug into the saw?
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 14 Oct 2017, 16:09

I have a trailing socket (extension lead , sort of) , but the "plug" end is wired directly to the consumer unit.

I did that , rather than a wall outlet, so I can swap from machine to machine as needed.

if that makes sense ? :eusa-think:
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 14 Oct 2017, 16:16

Consumer unit is nowhere near the garage sadly.
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 14 Oct 2017, 16:19

wizer wrote:Consumer unit is nowhere near the garage sadly.


?

do you not have small one / fuse box etc ? anything ? , where the power enters the garage ?

The run your lighting , sockets etc separately off that ?
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby 9fingers » 14 Oct 2017, 17:32

Tom
I did not tell you this!!! PURELY as a test
Wrap the 13 Amp fuse in a couple of layers of aluminium foil replace in the plug and try out the machine. You will be protected by the 30 amp fuse on the ring main.
Once you have proved the machine is ok. Remove the foil and wire in the commando socket in your photo via a c16 or c20 Mcb in a din housing spurred off the ring main in the garage.

This post will self destruct at some stage to protect my credibility :lol:
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3929
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby Tusses » 14 Oct 2017, 17:35

:lol: :lol: :lol:
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1283
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Scheppach TS4010 Power Inlet

Postby wizer » 14 Oct 2017, 17:39

hahah Bob I did consider that earlier. I'll try that, just don't tell Anita.. :eusa-whistle:
wizer
New Shoots
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 17:48
Location: Crowborough
Name:

Next

Return to Machines & Power Toolery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests