It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 11:32

Display Cabinets - slow WIP

This is where we don't want anything but evidence of your finest wood butchering in all its glorious, and photograph laden glory. Bring your finished products or WIP's, we love them all, so long as there's pictures, and plenty of 'em!

Display Cabinets - slow WIP

Postby StevieB » 30 Dec 2016, 17:20

It has been rather a long time since I posted anything useful or interesting due to massive work commitments, but a bit of free time between Christmas and New Year means I can start a new project, even if it will take me a while to complete it!

A while ago I asked for sources of UK oak, ideally in Lincolnshire and someone helpfully pointed me to Somerscales. I took a trip up there in the week before Christmas and despite it being a pain to find eventually ended up with almost 6 cu ft of oak. Now I am not very experienced in terms of wood yards and pretty much just took what was offered after being assured it was prime joinery grade - it is a touch ropey in places but as I over ordered I am hoping I have enough good timber. Inch thick boards 6 inches wide destined to be flooring blanks apparently, only £26 per cu ft which I didn't think was too bad.

I am hoping to turn this lot into 2 display cases for a selection of skulls - I work in a Life Sciences University Department, they are not my collection I hasten to add! Quick sketch on the back of a fag packet and a rough measure up for the location - I need one low flat cabinet approx 140cm x 70cm x 30cm high, and one taller at 140cm x 70cm x 90cm high. The second will have front opening doors, the former a lift up lid. As both cases can be seen from any side, they need to be see through all round ie no solid back, and in the case of the shorter case the lid will need to be see through as well.