It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 13:51

Doors

This is where we don't want anything but evidence of your finest wood butchering in all its glorious, and photograph laden glory. Bring your finished products or WIP's, we love them all, so long as there's pictures, and plenty of 'em!

Doors

Postby Doug » 17 Jan 2017, 17:58

I'd recently been asked to make some internal doors to match the existing in an old Victorian property, the main reason for this was the disparity in sizes from what are there & what was available to buy off the shelf.

The timber was unsorted redwood which was first sawn, planed & thicknessed to size.
Some of the rails needed to be made from two pieces so this is where I started shooting the mating surfaces

These were then domino'd with 50x10mm dom's

& glued together

The panels were also made from solid timber, as these ended up 11mm thick they were jointed with 20x4mm dominos

Dry fit prior to glue up

All the rails & stiles were then run through the moulder to form slots

After which stub tenons were cut on the rails also on the moulder & the frame dry fitted

Next the panels were planed to fit & the joints reinforced with 120x12mm dominos

To aid glueing up I borrowed an idea I'd seen on the Haven & made some 90 degree glueing blocks, first planing them square on the shooting board,

Then drilling holes at the pillar drill for the clamps

All that was left was the final glue up which was done in two stages, first the rails & mid stiles

Then the outer stiles

There is beading to be fitted around the perimeter of the panels but that will be done on site when the doors are hung.
Doug
Old Oak

Name:

Re: Doors

Postby Malc2098 » 17 Jan 2017, 18:29

Doug, Nice.

Did the door size come anywhere near the old 6'6"x2'6" or similar standard Imperial sizes? I ask, because where I worked in the 60s, yours was a standard pattern door supplied by the firm I worked for, and imported/made by METCO of Southall (Merchant Trading Company).
Malcolm
Malc2098