It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 21:30

Insulation for flat garage roof against summer heat

This is where we don't want anything but evidence of your finest wood butchering in all its glorious, and photograph laden glory. Bring your finished products or WIP's, we love them all, so long as there's pictures, and plenty of 'em!

Insulation for flat garage roof against summer heat

Postby tracerman » 01 Mar 2021, 14:19

In my woodworking machinery museum , I also store my homemade wines . Last year the summer heat became a problem , reaching the eighties on occasions . I tried multiple fans to virtually no effect so to combat this problem I'm considering an air cooler which has a 6 litre water tank . I'm looking specifically at the Igenix IG 9703 portable air cooler ( non heating option ) . I have no experience of these and wondered if anybody could advise whether the moisture might be a problem with tools going rusty . And how effective these things are ? Comments welcome .
steve
tracerman
Sapling

Name: Steve

Re: Insulation for flat garage roof against summer heat

Postby 9fingers » 01 Mar 2021, 14:48

It seems the wrong approach to try evaporative cooling witout taking every possible measure to stop the heat coming in in the first.
Fans will only bring in ambient air so no useful cooling as you have found.
Insulation inside the roof and south/western facing walls plus reflective roofing paint would be my starting point. Then look at heat pumps maybe driven by solar panels on the garage roof.

Bob
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dBTVXx ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
9fingers
Petrified Pine

Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Postby Mike G » 01 Mar 2021, 14:56

This isn't an area I'm particularly strong on, but roof materials and design are the key here, not the additions of moisture into the air. What is the roof made of, and what size is it?
Mike G
Sequoia

Name: