It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 13:48

Roll on Nov 5th.

Hang up your Chisels and Plane blades and take a load off with a recently turned goblet of your favourite poison, in the lounge of our Gentlemen's (and ladies) Club.

Roll on Nov 5th.

Postby Lons » 18 Oct 2020, 22:42

I built up a huge bonfire during the initial lockdown weeks and it shrunk to half it's size, I couldn't put a match to it as the birds, hedgehogs and heaven knows what else took up squatters rights. Hedges now cut it's grown again and I have another mountain under cover ready to throw on top. Can't wait, it will burn for days. :D

I've evicted the hedgehogs which hopefully will take up reidence in a couple of new des res I provided rent free.
Attachments
bonfire 1.jpg
(192.75 KiB)
bonfire 2.jpg
(323.86 KiB)
I have a degree in faffing about (It must be true, my wife says so)
Lons
Old Oak

Name: Bob

Re: Roll on Nov 5th.

Postby Mike G » 19 Oct 2020, 08:08

You need a chipper/ shredder and a 4 bay compost heap, not a match. ;)
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Postby Lons » 19 Oct 2020, 08:56

There's a lot more than branches in the middle of that lot Mike, old fencing, posts and loads of other combustible stuff, nothing nasty for the environment though.
I used to own a chipper years ago but never replaced it and I remember using a surprising amount of petrol and a lot of time breaking down the hedge cuttings. I've been keeping my eyes open recently for a decent s/h one but they all look like toys without spending serious money.
Lons
Old Oak

Postby Andyp » 19 Oct 2020, 10:30

I am surprised that there are not regulations that prevent the burning of garden rubbish. i certainly wouldn't want to live down wind when that goes up.
Although we are not supposed too we have a bonfire here on the 5th every year complete with guy. The neighbours and friends that have been are quite bemused by the tradition.
I do not think therefore I do not am.

cheers
Andy
Andyp
Petrified Pine

Name: Andy