It is currently 27 Feb 2020, 06:07

"This site can't be reached"

Please list any and all bugs, feature requests etc in here and we can pick them up from one place. Only one bug/request per thread please, and make the title relevant so they are easy to pick out.

"This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 28 Jan 2020, 08:50

I'm getting the above notification often when first clicking on the Woodhaven link in my Bookmarks folder. I then have to click it again to open the site, and when it opens, as it always does the second time, I find I have been signed out even though I have the "keep me signed in" box ticked.

Is it just me? Is it aliens, or the Chinese?
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 28 Jan 2020, 09:16

Working fine for me Mike. That sounds like a DNS issue to me. Your router not properly resolving the name of the site first time. Then waking up second time.

I’ve checked the site stats and there’s no failures at that end that I can see.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 28 Jan 2020, 10:09

Thanks Mark. This only started happening last week, and happens with no other site. Maybe clearing my cache a week or two back left some sort of legacy.
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 28 Jan 2020, 10:46

Hmmmm. Let me have a dig and see what I can find. Could be a cookie related thing. I’ll try clearing the board cache and see if that helps you...
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby 9fingers » 28 Jan 2020, 11:20

Mark, Whilst you are looking at oddities,
My login is set to remember password and log me in automatically. This is set on a number of PCs and my iphone.
Every now and then, seemingly at random intervals, I'm looged out of the site. I don't immediately notice but things like access to some boards and my message read history does not work. I then login using stored passwords and all is well on all platforms so I assume it is something at TWH2 end of things.

Not a big issue but curious nevertheless.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5512
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby RogerS » 28 Jan 2020, 13:32

9fingers wrote:Mark, Whilst you are looking at oddities,
My login is set to remember password and log me in automatically. This is set on a number of PCs and my iphone.
Every now and then, seemingly at random intervals, I'm looged out of the site. I don't immediately notice but things like access to some boards and my message read history does not work. I then login using stored passwords and all is well on all platforms so I assume it is something at TWH2 end of things.

Not a big issue but curious nevertheless.

Bob


Same here. Not 'remembering me'.
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 6628
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Nearly finished. OK OK...call me Pinocchio.
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby 9fingers » 28 Jan 2020, 13:44

RogerS wrote:
9fingers wrote:Mark, Whilst you are looking at oddities,
My login is set to remember password and log me in automatically. This is set on a number of PCs and my iphone.
Every now and then, seemingly at random intervals, I'm looged out of the site. I don't immediately notice but things like access to some boards and my message read history does not work. I then login using stored passwords and all is well on all platforms so I assume it is something at TWH2 end of things.

Not a big issue but curious nevertheless.

Bob


Same here. Not 'remembering me'.


Ah! I'm not the only one then.
Could be a security thing but then I'd expect it to happen at regular intervals.
Another possibility could be a maintenance clearout on the server where the interval could be related to volume of traffic rather than a fixed period of time?

I do get it on other PHPBB driven forums but I don't believe it is all that I use.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5512
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 28 Jan 2020, 13:48

I get the same Bob and Roger. Doesn’t happen often but does occasionally log me out and I have to log back in. I can have a look at the system settings but I don’t think there’s anything in there specific to that.

Auto login is controlled by cookies so if you clear your cache at all then expect to be logged out. Otherwise it could be that cookies are time limited perhaps, I’ll look at that...
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re:

Postby 9fingers » 28 Jan 2020, 14:20

TrimTheKing wrote:I get the same Bob and Roger. Doesn’t happen often but does occasionally log me out and I have to log back in. I can have a look at the system settings but I don’t think there’s anything in there specific to that.

Auto login is controlled by cookies so if you clear your cache at all then expect to be logged out. Otherwise it could be that cookies are time limited perhaps, I’ll look at that...


Please don't invest too much time on this its only a quirk that i thought I throw in a similar vein to Mike's observation.

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5512
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 28 Jan 2020, 14:29

Yeah will only take me a couple of mins to check that.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 28 Jan 2020, 17:40

Just cleared the board cache, just in case anything was stuck with the cookies. That should force a cookie download for anyone with a different cookie and should have no impact for users who are fine.

Let's see if that makes any difference because I cannot find anything else that looks untoward.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 28 Jan 2020, 17:53

Thanks Mark. I'll let you know over the next day or two.
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 29 Jan 2020, 08:57

This site can’t be reachedwww.thewoodhaven2.co.uk unexpectedly closed the connection.
Try:

Checking the connection
Checking the proxy and the firewall
Running Windows Network Diagnostics
ERR_CONNECTION_CLOSED

This greeted me this morning. However, when I tried a second time I got in fine, and I was still signed in.
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 29 Jan 2020, 08:59

Thanks Mike. I’ll have a look at the connection logs and see what I can find. What time was that?
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 29 Jan 2020, 09:51

Roughly 6.55 to 7.00am.
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 30 Jan 2020, 08:12

Again this morning at 7.11:

This site can’t be reachedwww.thewoodhaven2.co.uk unexpectedly closed the connection.
Try:

Checking the connection
Checking the proxy and the firewall
Running Windows Network Diagnostics
ERR_CONNECTION_CLOSED
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Robert » 30 Jan 2020, 11:13

You could try using googles DNS instead of your ISPs. Then you'd eliminate one possibility. I don't get any of the errors you are seeing.

on windows 10...
start menu...settings (cog just above power off icon)....Network and Internet....Change adaptor options (middle of page under Change your network settings).... You should get a new page showing the adaptor (Ethernet or wireless) that connects you to the internet. Right click the adaptor and choose properties....Left (normal) click on Internet protocol version 4 (TCP/IPv4).... then click properties.

Obtain DNS server address automatically will be selected. Select use the following DNS.

Enter 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as the server addresses. OK your way back out

To undo the above just repeat and put it back to automatic.

If your ISP does have DNS issues it may speed up your general browsing.

Worth a try. And apologies if you already knew this stuff :)
Robert
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:31
Location: Woodford Green
Name: Robert

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby TrimTheKing » 30 Jan 2020, 11:48

I agree Robert. The error is a bit spurious and while it suggests the server is closing the initial connection I have looked in the connection logs and don’t see any corresponding connection teardowns.

My suspicion is that it is DNS so your suggestion is a good one.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4459
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: "This site can't be reached"

Postby Mike G » 30 Jan 2020, 11:50

Robert wrote:...... apologies if you already knew this stuff :)


Knew it? :) What you've written may as well be in Mandarin. :lol: I'll work through it slowly. Many thanks.
User avatar
Mike G
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4425
Joined: 30 Jul 2014, 22:36
Location: Somewhat less of a hovel
Name:


Return to Technical Issues, Bugs and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron