It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 19:44

CAD - real life animation.

Where to ask all your SketchUp related questions or share your skills (in the case of our resident Guru Dave R…).

CAD - real life animation.

Postby Pinch » 29 Oct 2016, 12:47

Hello Chaps,

I've been thinking for some time to create a 3D animation (as real life as poss) of a piece of furniture which hasn't yet been made. I certainly don't have the knowledge or experience to do this as I've never used a CAD programme before. I know some of you guys use Sketchup, but I don't think this will give me what I'm hoping to achieve anyway - or will it?

The animation needs to be as real life as it can possibly get. I know this probably shouts 'expensive', but I really don't know. Logic would say the more real life, the more powerful the programme needs to be and therefore, the more expensive. I have been thinking about contacting a local CAD designer for a chat and an idea of cost.

I'm open to suggestions or any advice you might have - with thanks in advance.

Cheers,

:text-bravo:
In my previous life, I was a tree.
Pinch
Old Oak

Name: Paul

Re: CAD - real life animation.

Postby Mike G » 29 Oct 2016, 13:35

It's easy. Any 3D model can be taken into 3D Studio Max and come out looking like a photograph of an existing object, complete with reflections on the shiny bits and of course shadows. This, however, isn't within the compass of the untrained.
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Postby 9fingers » 29 Oct 2016, 13:41

Sort depends on what you mean by animation Paul.

If you mean a 3D model that you can drag around to show clients what it would look like for a variety of angles, then Sketchup at DaveR sort of standard will probably do.

A key requirement could be a wide range library of wood styles and colours.

Animation to me would be display some sort of moving mechanism - maybe how an extending table would work.
Not sure if SU would support this.