It is currently 29 Mar 2024, 00:10

Floor plan question

Where to ask all your SketchUp related questions or share your skills (in the case of our resident Guru Dave R…).

Floor plan question

Postby techauthorbob » 14 Jan 2018, 16:49

I am fairly new to Sketchup and I would like to model my own house (hipped roof dormer bungalow) .

I have looked at quite a few others attempts and they all seem to use single lines then offset and trim to suit.

Is this the best way or is there a way to draw double lines of the required thickness? It just seems cumbersome to me.

I am using the free 2016 version until I decide if the latest is worth it, so if single lines is the best then that's what I will use.

Thanks in advance for any advice ( even THAT, it's called Constructive Critisism).

Bob
techauthorbob
New Shoots

Name: Bob Hardy

Re: Floor plan question

Postby Malc2098 » 14 Jan 2018, 17:08

The main man is Dave R, but until he can answer in much more technical detail, let me try.

It took me a while to 'get' the concept of SU, but when the penny dropped, I loved it. I modelled my workshop basically by modelling a brick and then making a wall, modelling an 8x2 joist and then making a floor, then sheathing then wall frames etc.

I've seen SU draw the house/building itself as a model with out the detail of construction, but the overall shape.

Making the wall was just copying and pasting a single brick multiple times. Rafters were an 8x2 rectangle extruded to the length required then copied multiple times.

HTH.
Malcolm
Malc2098
Sequoia

Name: Malcolm

Postby Robert » 14 Jan 2018, 19:06

You can't think of drawing in sketchup the way you do for say autocad. Sketchup is 3D from the off. If you do draw lines it is to make a 3D object - you don't leave odd lines around on the drawing or the next object you work on could join itself to the lines.