It is currently 18 Nov 2018, 12:54

Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Roll up, roll up. Here you will find everything from new workshop designs, through builds to completed workshop tours. All magnificently overseen by our own Mike G and his tremendously thorough 'Shed' design and generous advice.

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Bucks woodshop » 22 Jun 2018, 22:33

Me too but i moved into plcs and automation and now management so i cant self cert anymore but really need to get back up to date on this for when i do the extension and relocate the workshop

Yeah i thought singles still a pain in conduit though good job its trunking

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
do or do not do there is no try - Yoda , the dagobah system
Bucks woodshop
New Shoots
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 14 May 2018, 15:15
Location: aylesbury bucks
Name: ian

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby jules70 » 22 Jun 2018, 23:01

Singles in conduit + 25mm is the way to go but I cant think for life of me why he would do it in drops ! Each to their own and must have his reasons. Very nice job.
jules70
Seedling
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 17 Jun 2016, 23:43
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 22 Jun 2018, 23:05

jules70 wrote:Singles in conduit + 25mm is the way to go but I cant think for life of me why he would do it in drops ! Each to their own and must have his reasons. Very nice job.


Really don’t know mate. So long as it works and is compliant (and means I can get in ASAP) then I’m happy. ;)
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby RogerS » 23 Jun 2018, 04:47

My sparks did my wiring the same way as Mark's...trunking and drops.
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5540
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Please God. Make it stop raining.
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Andyp » 23 Jun 2018, 07:00

Seems to me having all those drops will get in the way of hanging cupboards, as well as a waste of cable.

Great progress though Mark.
cheers

Andy

if images are not visible on my posts it is because Photobucket withdrew their free hosting service. I will reload images to the most recent threads in due course. Please drop me a PM if you would like to see anything before then
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Phil » 24 Jun 2018, 15:29

Nice progress Mark.

At this rate there will be sawdust long before Christmas! :D :D

The clean up near the tank is a nice solution, pity about the washline.
We don't stop woodworking because we grow old, we grow old because we stop woodworking!
User avatar
Phil
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 05:11
Location: Southern Africa 0054
Name: Phil

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 24 Jun 2018, 22:13

Phil wrote:Nice progress Mark.

At this rate there will be sawdust long before Christmas! :D :D

The clean up near the tank is a nice solution, pity about the washline.


Thanks Phil, fingers crossed...

The washing lines are retractable and hidden away when not in use. They were wash days when the photos were taken.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Tusses » 27 Jun 2018, 19:24

Well there's one I've caught up with !
Great progress Mark :-)
I bet the closer it gets , the more you want it done so you can get in there !
Try to have will power though, and get it all done and finished, as if you "move in" will odds and ends still to do , they will likely never get done :eusa-doh:
Tusses
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1300
Joined: 08 May 2016, 10:48
Location: in the middle of the middle
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 16 Sep 2018, 16:28

Well life is no less busy but I’ve reprioritised some things in my life lately and am starting to make time for things for me!

My mate took Friday off to do some more on the electrics for me so we cracked on together and got the remaining conduit in place for the sockets round 3 sides, all the singles pulled through and 6 sockets terminated.

He care round again today for a couple of hours and we drilled through into the house and terminated into the main consumer unit so we now have a live CU in the workshop!!

We’re going to get a couple more hours at it in evenings this week and get the sockets livened up. Still to go is a bit more conduit for sockets along the front wall, lighting circuits and a couple of external lights and sockets then I can get it signed off.

Image

Image

I am having the flat panels as the main lighting but in the handtool section I think I need tubes up in between the mezzanine rafters so can anyone recommend some for me, both fittings and tubes, so I don’t need to research?

The panels are 6500k LED so the tubes need to compliment these.

Cheers
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Doug » 16 Sep 2018, 16:58

You sure you’re gonna have enough sockets :?:
Doug
Nordic Pine
 
Posts: 740
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 22:22
Location: Location Location
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 16 Sep 2018, 16:59

I was worried, do you think I’ve gone too few?

;)
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby 9fingers » 16 Sep 2018, 17:24

Why do you need a different type of light to use hand tools?
Hand tools are not something that happens in my shop** but is there a difference required? A semi serious reply.

I use trad fluorescent tubes and each time I've wondered about leds, I keep coming back to the reliability of the drivers and then we have poor malcolm's experience of severe RFI. My network connection down there is via homeplug at near limit range.

**I did use a chisel today to scrape some glue squeeze-out from the corners of a job :lol:

Bob
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4625
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 16 Sep 2018, 17:28

No mate it’s nothing to do with hand tools, it’s just because having the flat panels against the underside of the joists means I will be in danger of belting them as I move stuff around. I thought it would be safer to have tubes up in between a couple of sets of joists that I could recess up slightly above the joist bottoms.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Andyp » 16 Sep 2018, 17:40

Well it is progress so keep it up.

Still don't understand why you have wasted so much cable and conduit on all those vertical drops. The horizontals should be in line with the sockets. But I could be wrong.
cheers

Andy

if images are not visible on my posts it is because Photobucket withdrew their free hosting service. I will reload images to the most recent threads in due course. Please drop me a PM if you would like to see anything before then
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby RogerS » 16 Sep 2018, 17:48

Andyp wrote:Well it is progress so keep it up.

Still don't understand why you have wasted so much cable and conduit on all those vertical drops. The horizontals should be in line with the sockets. But I could be wrong.


I asked my sparks why he'd done my workshop the same way and TBH his answer didn't make sense. I think it's a question of 'because I've always done it that way'.

Good progress, Mark. I'm driving down your way on Friday and so can call in and give confirmation to the guys that it really is progress and not some fancy Photoshop'd image :lol:
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5540
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Please God. Make it stop raining.
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Rod » 16 Sep 2018, 17:55

Actually, daylight is a great thing.
I took great care giving my boxes a first coat of thin varnish working in the shop with lots of lighting on ( none flicker double daylight fl. tubes) But examining them later in daylight when dry I was really surprised how much I’d missed. Came as a bit of a shock - you cannot have too much lighting never mind plug sockets!

Rod
User avatar
Rod
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3779
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:34
Location: Winchester, Hampshire
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby TrimTheKing » 16 Sep 2018, 17:58

Yeah defo pop in Roger. I’ll be home all day apart from School drop off and pick up (out between 14:45 - 15:30.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - What? Is that progress.

Postby Malc2098 » 16 Sep 2018, 18:38

Firstly, I've never regretted having 24 double sockets. Each time I do something that needs plugging in, I have a choice and don't have to stretch.

Secondly, could 600 x 300 or 1200 x 300 panels fit between the joists?

Just a thought.
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Old Oak
 
Posts: 2696
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby TrimTheKing » 16 Sep 2018, 18:56

Question, I'm just buying some more MCB's for the shop and looking at the ratings. I would think that MCB B's would be more than enough for the shop, but has anyone installed C's for any particular machines or applications?

I imagine the only 3 machines in my shop with enough possible grunt to trip a standard 13a socket would be the tablesaw (which ran fine on a 13a plug when the shop was in the house, so can't see it being any different, but I might put it on a 16a commando and matching MCB just in case, the planer/thicknesser and the DX.

All the above worked fine on 13a in the garage workshop but happy to take any advice now before I purchase.
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3887
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby RogerS » 16 Sep 2018, 19:16

If they worked fine before then they should still be OK on those B breakers.
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5540
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Please God. Make it stop raining.
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby Malc2098 » 16 Sep 2018, 19:33

I have two separate 16a radials and use the table saw on one and DX on the other. I believe they're on Cs.
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Old Oak
 
Posts: 2696
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby Rod » 16 Sep 2018, 22:07

My DEFT tablesaw is on a C with 16A plugs.
But everything else is as “normal”.

Rod
User avatar
Rod
Old Oak
 
Posts: 3779
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:34
Location: Winchester, Hampshire
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby 9fingers » 17 Sep 2018, 11:02

Just catching up with threads as my "new post" notifications are taking nearly 24hrs to turn up :shock:

I feed my workshop with a C40 breaker in the house and avoid nuisance trips in the workshop itself by having wired fuses in recycled CUs from the house when I re-wired it. These are tolerant of motor start ups but will blow in the good old fashioned way for serious fault protection.

Not this is likely to be an option for you Mark for signed off installation. I would fit C breakers for any serious motor loads. Even my 1.5hp planer will take out 13amp cartridge fuses and B16s. Motors are very variable as to whether they will take out 13amp plug fuses or low rated breakers so I would say use 16amp sockets with C breakers just in case.

OK all understood on the hand tool lighting issue. Yes keeping them from harms way is sensible but too deeply recessed could create shadows.
I'd suggest reputable brand linear fittings from leccy wholesaler like TLC and your choice of LED or fluorescent tubes
Image
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_GZrX ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Old Oak
 
Posts: 4625
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby greeno » 17 Sep 2018, 17:10

Regarding doing drops, if you've tall furniture that needs to go against the wall it is easier to remove a drop to make space than it is to reroute dado trunking.
greeno
Seedling
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 19 Jul 2016, 10:46
Name:

Re: Trimble Towers Workshop Build - Electrics

Postby Phil » 07 Oct 2018, 10:14

Coming along nicely Mark.

Just go with as many plugs as you can fit in. It's like machines & tools - you can never have enough :D

Looks like you will make the Xmas saw-dust deadline comfortably?
We don't stop woodworking because we grow old, we grow old because we stop woodworking!
User avatar
Phil
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 05:11
Location: Southern Africa 0054
Name: Phil

PreviousNext

Return to Workshop Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest