It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 19:22

Hello from “Windows”

Visit here first to sign the visitors book, say your first 'Hello', share something about yourself and have a read of the forum rules.

Hello from “Windows”

Postby Windows » 26 Jan 2022, 23:51

Hello. Greetings from Cumbria.

I’m extremely new to practical woodworking, but I’ve read a bunch of text and watched a lot of videos over the last few months.

My major woodworking goal is to create secondary glazing for the side opening casement windows in my Edwardian-style house to aid with heat retention and reduce condensation.

In the future I hope to build a shed/workshop because I don’t have a good place to work currently.

In terms of the woodworking process, I’m going for:
1. Low noise
2. Low dust
3. Low chemicals
4. Reversible construction

As a result I’m focusing on human-powered woodworking with hand tools.

Low noise means not only that I’m unlikely to use large machinery, but also that I’m likely to avoid bashing chisels with hammers if I can help it. (For example, I may use an auger bit to remove waste from a mortise before paring with a chisel rather than chiselling the whole thing).

Low dust means that I won’t be using powered saws and sanders. It also means that I’m going to avoid sanding at all if I can help it. (For example, using a plane or card scraper instead of sanding).

Low chemicals and reversible construction means I’ll be avoiding glue as far as possible. (Instead relying on wood joints, wedges, draw-boring where dismantlability isn’t worthwhile.)

Low stress is more important to me than high speed.

I have a small collection of basic tools (Japanese saws, western chisels, brace, drill, couple of moulding planes, rebate plane, no 4 plane, some clamps) which should do the job for the windows.