It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 14:55

MDF cabinet advice

This forum is for any general questions, queries or plain old chinwaggery on Woody stuff in general.

MDF cabinet advice

Postby Rezi » 07 Aug 2022, 15:12

I'm going to be making a bathroom storage unit and my wife wants it painted rather than natural wood. MDF seems to be the logical choice but I've never used it before so I would like some pointers on the best choices for fixing it all together and putting the paint on.

It will look something like this but about twice the width and I'll use unpainted Oak for the top and handles and I'll put some Oak strips along the bottom to keep the MDF off the floor.

Bathroom Cabinet.jpg
(54.43 KiB)

Pocket hole screws seem to be the popular choice for fixings on this type of furniture but I don't have one of those jigs so I think glue and screw and then use wood filler to hide the evidence. Is that a sound idea?
I'd like to get a nice smooth finish but I don't own any spray painting gear but I might invest in some if it's easy enough. What's the best way to go with this?

Thanks in advance.

Steve
Rezi
New Shoots

Name: Steve

Re: MDF cabinet advice

Postby Robert » 07 Aug 2022, 15:51

If you can get Moisture Resistant MDF it is worth the extra cost. Not just because it is a bathroom and damp air - MRMDF is easier to work with. The cut edges are not as fluffy and require less sealing to be able to sand them smooth.

You can make grooves in the panels and glue a shelf or whatever into the rebate. just need to give a tiny bit extra clearance and work quickly as edges wetted with adhesive will expand making the board thicker at the edges. Again much less a problem with MRMDF. I'd avoid screwing into panel edges if you can as MDF is like a stack of paper layers and likes to split if you screw into an edge.