It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 11:08

Blade tension rod.

The place to be to discuss Scrolling and other artistic forms of Woodbutchery

Blade tension rod.

Postby Mike G » 27 Apr 2021, 19:50

What's one of these things on a scroll saw, and how much of an issue is it if one is broken?
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Re: Blade tension rod.

Postby Lons » 27 Apr 2021, 21:29

If you can't tension the blade you can't use the saw Mike, mine is a Hegner and the rod is at the back, I assume similar to all others of like design, you roughly tension it then there' a flip over clamp for quick release to change blade, they're pretty simple and usually easily replaced, I guess even if an obscure saw it wouldn't be difficult to make up a part.
I have a degree in faffing about (It must be true, my wife says so)
Lons
Old Oak

Name: Bob

Postby DaveL » 27 Apr 2021, 21:31

Mike,

We need a bit more information, there are number of ways the tension can be applied to a scroll saw blade. In general the saw will shed the blade if it's not under tension, or the blade will bend if it does not fall off.
Regards,
Dave
My tool kit is almost complete, only a few more to get.
DaveL
Old Oak

Name: Dave

Postby Mike G » 27 Apr 2021, 21:33

Lons wrote:........there' a flip over clamp for quick release to change blade, they're pretty simple and usually easily replaced, I guess even if an obscure saw it wouldn't be difficult to make up a part.

Great. That's what I needed to know.
Mike G
Sequoia

Name:

Postby Mr P » 28 Apr 2021, 08:02

Mike G wrote:
Lons wrote:........there' a flip over clamp for quick release to change blade, they're pretty simple and usually easily replaced, I guess even if an obscure saw it wouldn't be difficult to make up a part.

Great. That's what I needed to know.

A cycle quick release skewer will do the job Mike, these get recommended lot on scrolling sites (never used one myself)
Mr P
New Shoots

Name: Steve

Postby Mike G » 28 Apr 2021, 08:24