It is currently 21 Oct 2021, 04:06

Empty video space on screen

Please list any and all bugs, feature requests etc in here and we can pick them up from one place. Only one bug/request per thread please, and make the title relevant so they are easy to pick out.

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby 9fingers » 13 Oct 2021, 18:52

A trick I use if the normal forum post is misbehaving in some way is to click on "Quote"

then you will see some of the underlying code in the page and in this case for example, you can see the youtube address.

Bob
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dBTVXx ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Sequoia
 
Posts: 7771
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Malc2098 » 13 Oct 2021, 21:36

Roger,

It's a big square of blank space, and all that happens if you click on it is that goes 'selected' blue.

Bob9F,

All it shows when you 'quote' is the the two youtube hangers with the number code between, as typed. So this sort of reinforces that Flash creates the issue with browsers that no longer support it.
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5450
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby 9fingers » 13 Oct 2021, 22:04

Malc2098 wrote:
All it shows when you 'quote' is the the two youtube hangers with the number code between, as typed. So this sort of reinforces that Flash creates the issue with browsers that no longer support it.



Exactly! so copy that, add "youtube" to the string and chuck it into google and you have got your video - simples.
Bob
Information on induction motors here
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dBTVXx ... sp=sharing
Email:motors@minchin.org.uk
User avatar
9fingers
Sequoia
 
Posts: 7771
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 20:22
Location: Romsey Hampshire between Southampton and the New Forest
Name: Bob

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby RogerS » 14 Oct 2021, 01:09

Cor....that was close. I was thinking about upgrading to Big Sur. Good reason not to.
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 9854
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Nearly finished. OK OK...call me Pinocchio.
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Andyp » 14 Oct 2021, 07:17

RogerS wrote:Cor....that was close. I was thinking about upgrading to Big Sur. Good reason not to.


:text-+1: my thoughts exactly
cheers

Andy

2 wrongs don’t make a right but 3 lefts will
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 8439
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby TrimTheKing » 14 Oct 2021, 08:25

RogerS wrote:Cor....that was close. I was thinking about upgrading to Big Sur. Good reason not to.


It’s not just Big Sur, you need to keep an eye on upgrades to Safari on any version, they could easily remove shockwave support in an update at any time.

Just means I need go find time to rebuild the forum sooner rather than later…
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6363
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby RogerS » 14 Oct 2021, 09:02

TrimTheKing wrote:
RogerS wrote:Cor....that was close. I was thinking about upgrading to Big Sur. Good reason not to.


It’s not just Big Sur, you need to keep an eye on upgrades to Safari on any version, they could easily remove shockwave support in an update at any time.

Just means I need go find time to rebuild the forum sooner rather than later…


No reason why we can't use a different browser, Mark, in the interim.
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 9854
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Nearly finished. OK OK...call me Pinocchio.
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby TrimTheKing » 14 Oct 2021, 09:09

No I know, and the same goes for if you had Big Sur…
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6363
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Malc2098 » 14 Oct 2021, 10:15

My observation of Big Sur is that it is much less memory hungry that its predecessor.

With Catalina, I had to keep the Activity Monitor open and close down stuff, mainly Safari, after the memory pressure trace went from green to amber then red.

What was happening was that after closing down tabs the like of Facebook and youtube, the memory usage stayed, adding to the aggregated amount actually being used.

Big Sur has done away with all that. The memory pressure trace stays green almost all the time.
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5450
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Andyp » 14 Oct 2021, 10:27

How much memory do you have Malc?
cheers

Andy

2 wrongs don’t make a right but 3 lefts will
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 8439
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Malc2098 » 14 Oct 2021, 10:37

Andyp wrote:How much memory do you have Malc?

Screenshot 2021-10-14 at 10.36.42.png
(74.89 KiB)
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5450
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Andyp » 14 Oct 2021, 17:57

even though I have more memory than you I still think my ageing iMac may struggle with Big Sur

Screen Shot 2021-10-14 at 18.55.27.png
(38.21 KiB)
cheers

Andy

2 wrongs don’t make a right but 3 lefts will
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 8439
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby RogerS » 14 Oct 2021, 18:21

This is interesting (if I knew what he was on about!) Seems to be a patch to get Big Sur to run on older iMacs but with warnings.

https://bensova.gitbook.io/big-sur/supported-macs

And here

https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/insta ... c-3654960/

Another useful link

https://www.macworld.co.uk/feature/what ... e-3776008/
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 9854
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Nearly finished. OK OK...call me Pinocchio.
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Andyp » 14 Oct 2021, 19:05

I'll not be messing about trying to get Big Sur to work on my "unsupported' 12 year old iMac.
I knew back in 2006 when I bought my first iMac that domestic IT could be money bit. I worked for ICL then Fujitsu long enough to know that constant upgrading of hardware and software was not customer driven but by manufacturers creating demand.
Thankfully we are not high end users sucked into gaming or high speed graphics so I will stick with what I've got until it breaks.

Oh and I will have to get by without fibre for a while yet. More about that later.
cheers

Andy

2 wrongs don’t make a right but 3 lefts will
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 8439
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Woodster » 14 Oct 2021, 20:50

RogerS wrote:
No reason why we can't use a different browser, Mark, in the interim.


Maybe, maybe not. As I said earlier:

Woodster wrote:I’ve upgraded one of my seldom used iPads to iPadOS 15 and video’s have been removed on this site using the following browsers:
Safari, Chrome, Firefox and Opera.
All have empty spaces apart from Chrome which shows this:

75A643BE-22E7-4A1B-957C-5AF36B8337A4.jpeg


I’ve checked out some other forums I visit and videos display normally so it’s only this place so far. ;)


This is on an iPad using iPadOS 15 but who’s to say it won’t affect browsers on desktops?
I update to ensure I get the security updates. Not updating in order to view a website using obsolete software is not an option for me.
User avatar
Woodster
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1660
Joined: 26 Jan 2017, 13:17
Location: Dorset
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby RogerS » 14 Oct 2021, 20:57

Woodster wrote:
RogerS wrote:
No reason why we can't use a different browser, Mark, in the interim.


Maybe, maybe not. As I said earlier:

Woodster wrote:I’ve upgraded one of my seldom used iPads to iPadOS 15 and video’s have been removed on this site using the following browsers:
Safari, Chrome, Firefox and Opera.
All have empty spaces apart from Chrome which shows this:

75A643BE-22E7-4A1B-957C-5AF36B8337A4.jpeg


I’ve checked out some other forums I visit and videos display normally so it’s only this place so far. ;)


This is on an iPad using iPadOS 15 but who’s to say it won’t affect browsers on desktops?
I update to ensure I get the security updates. Not updating in order to view a website using obsolete software is not an option for me.


Don't Apple differentiate their updates ? You have an option to choose which update eg Security Update vs Keynotes, say...you want to use ?
Fewer Smart things. More smart people.
User avatar
RogerS
Sequoia
 
Posts: 9854
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 21:07
Location: Nearly finished. OK OK...call me Pinocchio.
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Woodster » 14 Oct 2021, 21:49

Not on an iPad that I’m aware of. Maybe they do on desktop but as I’m running an old OS I think I probably only get security updates anyway.

As Flash has always been a security issue who knows what browsers do not, or will not support it for much longer.
User avatar
Woodster
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1660
Joined: 26 Jan 2017, 13:17
Location: Dorset
Name:

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby Malc2098 » 14 Oct 2021, 22:06

RogerS wrote:[

Don't Apple differentiate their updates ? You have an option to choose which update eg Security Update vs Keynotes, say...you want to use ?


The Mac os Security updates are included in the OS version update, and Safari has security updates.

The apps like Keynote etc, have separate updates which are available via the App Store, not the OS.
Malcolm
User avatar
Malc2098
Sequoia
 
Posts: 5450
Joined: 03 Jul 2016, 11:10
Location: Tiverton
Name: Malcolm

Re: Empty video space on screen

Postby spb » 15 Oct 2021, 12:06

Woodster wrote:This is on an iPad using iPadOS 15 but who’s to say it won’t affect browsers on desktops?


iOS and iPadOS are a special case - I won't bore everyone with the technical details, but essentially on those platforms all browsers are actually Safari behind the scenes, so any changes in what Safari allows will be seen in the others too.

On desktops, the other browsers are allowed to run their own rendering engines, so you'll continue to see differences between them.
spb
Sapling
 
Posts: 275
Joined: 27 Sep 2020, 20:25
Location: Cambridge
Name: Stephen

Previous

Return to Technical Issues, Bugs and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron