It is currently 17 Jan 2022, 04:53

Odd error message with Wordle

Please list any and all bugs, feature requests etc in here and we can pick them up from one place. Only one bug/request per thread please, and make the title relevant so they are easy to pick out.

Odd error message with Wordle

Postby AndyT » 14 Jan 2022, 08:25

Over in the thread "maybe one for the cruciverbalists" people are successfully using the share facility in the Wordle puzzle.

If I click on the share button in the puzzle and then paste into a new post, it all looks fine in Preview. But when I try and post, I get this:

Screenshot_20220114-071431.png
(184.35 KiB)


Totally trivial issue but a bit odd. I'm using Opera on Android.
--------------
Andy
User avatar
AndyT
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 23 Nov 2020, 19:45
Location: Bristol
Name: Andy

Re: Odd error message with Wordle

Postby novocaine » 14 Jan 2022, 08:34

all of the one's I've seen have been saved then uploaded as an image Andy.

you can see how they have done it by quoting them.
Carbon fibre is just corduroy for cars.
novocaine
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: 26 Nov 2020, 10:37
Name: Dave

Re: Odd error message with Wordle

Postby AndyT » 14 Jan 2022, 09:30

novocaine wrote:all of the one's I've seen have been saved then uploaded as an image Andy.

you can see how they have done it by quoting them.


Ah, that makes sense, thanks. I'll do the same workaround (and did, earlier today). It's nice to know it's not a special error just for me. :)
--------------
Andy
User avatar
AndyT
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 23 Nov 2020, 19:45
Location: Bristol
Name: Andy

Re: Odd error message with Wordle

Postby Andyp » 14 Jan 2022, 09:32

yeah that's right.
once I have done the wordle the first thing I do is show off to the family by Sharing on WhatsAp. I then do a screengrab of the whatsap, crop it so I just get the image, save, then upload to the thread here. Only takes a few secs.
cheers

Andy
User avatar
Andyp
Sequoia
 
Posts: 9058
Joined: 22 Jul 2014, 07:05
Location: 14860 Normandy, France
Name: Andy

Re: Odd error message with Wordle

Postby TrimTheKing » 14 Jan 2022, 11:06

Yes it's because the emoji's used for the squares aren't supported in the forum software hence the error. As the guys have already shared, the ones in the thread have been screengrabbed.

But you ARE special Andy! ;)
Cheers
Mark
TrimTheKing
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6624
Joined: 16 Jun 2014, 13:27
Location: Grappenhall, Cheshire
Name: Mark

Re: Odd error message with Wordle

Postby AndyT » 14 Jan 2022, 11:12

Thanks both. Who needs emojis anyway? ;-)
--------------
Andy
User avatar
AndyT
Old Oak
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 23 Nov 2020, 19:45
Location: Bristol
Name: Andy


Return to Technical Issues, Bugs and Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron