It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 22:07

David's Workshop Build

Roll up, roll up. Here you will find everything from new workshop designs, through builds to completed workshop tours. All magnificently overseen by our own Mike G and his tremendously thorough 'Shed' design and generous advice.

David's Workshop Build

Postby Regex » 26 Mar 2021, 19:14

Hi everyone

First time poster here, though you can find me over on UKWorkshop too.

I have been busily researching and planning a workshed build to replace an existing dilapidated shed, and have a couple of questions which I've numbered that I'm hoping someone can help me with. I have lots of diagrams and pictures to help explain the situation and any issues I'm not sure about, as there are a number of confounding factors :eusa-think: I'm a newbie with building, so if you can see any issues that seem obvious to you, which I might not have thought about, please do point them out.

The Workshop
I am planning to make it 8' by 12', with a flat roof (orientation not decided yet) and it will primarily be used for hobby and diy projects with hand and battery powered tools only (so no heavy machinery). It will be built with wood stud framing, and insulated and water proofed. I will need to get planning permission since this is within the grounds of a listed building, so no need to worry about permitted development issues related to height.

Q1: Does it matter which way I slope the flat roof?

Diagram 1.png
Diagram of proposed build
(708.13 KiB)

Foundation - 9' 1 1/2" x 13' 6"
There is already a concrete foundation here, and it was built by some previous owner at an unknown date (I have lived here for a year now). I would prefer not to have to make one myself.

• It is close to soil level on some sides
  • The concrete foundation (2") appears to have been cast in two sections on top of reclaimed bricks (~5")
  • The surface is rough and pitted, but uncracked.
  • Water collects and does not dry well..

foundation dirt.JPG